Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
General Discussion
  • Page:

TOPIC: Bellows or not?

Bellows or not? 2 years 10 months ago #190

• scotty55
  • Fresh Boarder
I bought a set of Walsh Retro A mouth blown smallpipes this year. From what I can see on this forum it appears most of you have instruments that use bellows. Without sounding like a total yahoo and of course hearing musicians like Dick Hensold live I can appreciate bellows pipes.

Obviously I didn't buy what one would call high end pipes but more of a starter set. To the experienced out there can I attain a reasonable sound once I have a tune mastered or should I be looking to ditch the Walsh's and find something else?

Jim
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Bellows or not? 2 years 10 months ago #191

• Tunni
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 11
Hi Jim

I'm waiting in today for my first set of bellows pipes to be delivered! Prior to this I've spent many year playing the big things and several more with a mouth blown set of small pipes. If you've not played before and are learning completely from scratch I'd say there is a fair bit of merit in keeping everything cheap and cheerfull until you've really started to get to grips with the fingering technique and have started to get a few tunes under your belt.

When it comes to differences and advantages as I see it these are some of the considerations between bellows and mouth blown:
You'll learn loads more about reeds if you get to grips with mouth blown pipes mainly because you'll have to spend so much of your time setting the damn things up! This is either a boon to future development or a crippling handicap dependent on luck, who you've got around to guide and your ability to put up with dodgy notes when learning.