Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
General Discussion

TOPIC: Optimal drone tuning positions

Optimal drone tuning positions 2 years 6 months ago #246

• DrBlow
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
Smallpipes newbie here...apologies in advance if this question has an obvious answer!
If I'm setting up my highland pipes with new reed(s) I know exactly where I want the drone slides to sit (tenors and top bass with 2mm hemp visible and about 2 Fingers width on the bottom bass slide. Are there similar sweet spots for smallpipes? Or is the balance of harmonic generation different? I have a set of A smallpipes and noticed my bass was tuning with only about 10mm gap on the bottom slide and 15mm gap on the top slide. My chanter is bang on A=440 with a true scale so my pitch is Ok....should I try moving the drone reed pitch to open the slides up?

Bob
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Optimal drone tuning positions 2 years 6 months ago #247

• ggreig
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 9
Hi Bob,

I am assuming that your smallpipes are bellows-blown. One significant difference you will find between smallpipes and GHB is that the moisture presented to GHB drone reeds is pretty nearly constant, whether from your blowing or controlled by a canister. Not so with smallpipes. You will find that the tuning changes significantly with humidity as well as temperature (as the reed opens up or closes.) What this means is that the position of your drone tuning can change quite a lot according to the weather and your central heating etc..