LBPS Annual Competition 2022 – The Results

The LBPS Annual Competition 2022 was held in Linlithgow on Saturday, 9th April 2022.

It was the first time the Society had been to this historic town. The town's old municipal building, the Burgh Halls proved to be a superb venue and was only a five-minute walk from the railway station. The town itself is conveniently situated roughly halfway between Glasgow and Edinburgh.

At the Burgh Halls (built in 1670) we pretty much had the running of the place. The acoustics were superb. Due to the ease of getting there plus the superb facilities, the committee is considering returning there for the 2023 competition.

At lunchtime, a dozen or so competitors played on the veranda for an Easter event the town held for local children ... and, naturally, the town tune, The Roke was given an airing.

 Linlithgow Burgh Halls  Rona Dawson in the Open Solo

            The Linlithgow Burgh Halls                                      Rona Dawson playing in the Open Solo


The results are shown below. The videos of the winning entries can be seen on the Lowland & Border Pipers' Society Official YouTube channel. Please follow the link to enjoy the tunes. 


Seasoned Pipers – Nigel Richards Trophy

Judge – Neil Clark

1st Brian Mulhearn – Mulinders Hymn, MacCrimmon’s Wedding, Lenny’s Bus (Hornpipe), Rowan Martin

2nd David Hannay – The Mill, Corn Riggs with variations

3rd John Kelly – Mary Scott, Flower of Yarrow, Mrs Hamilton of Pentcaitland

Intermediate – Julian Goodacre Trophy

Judge – Neil Clark

1st Robert Porter – She Moved Through The Fair, Ae’ Fond Kiss, part of The Black and The Grey, (Dixon)

2nd Matt Mochar – Bonnie Lass O’ Fyvie O, The Braes of Killiekrankie, The Roses of Prince Charlie, Flett From Flotta

3rd John Kelly – Wals Voor Polle By Wim Poesen, Arr. By Ian Kinnear; Le Canal en Octobre - (Frédéric Paris) Arr. by Malin Lewis & Pasacaglia de Pontevedra (Galician  March) Trad. Arr. By Gary West

Novice - Heriot & Allan Quaich

No candidates

Duet for Piper and Singer – Judy Barker Trophy

Judge – Neil Clark

1st Peter McAllister and Robert Porter – The Mountains of Mourne

Skeely Piper Trophy (tunes associated with Perthshire)

Judge – Neil Clark

1st Stuart Letford – MacGregor of Rora, Mrs Jane Kennedy of St Annes, The High Drive, (Gordon Duncan),The Straloch Turkeys, (Gordon Duncan)

2nd Alexander Scott – The Hills of Perth (alternate 4th part by Andrew MacIntyre) The Pitlochry High-school Centenary

3rd Matt Seattle – An Ye Had Been Whaur I Hae Been, Ye Wad Nae Been Sae Cantie, (arr. Matt Seattle), Forteviot (Matt Seattle)

Open Solo for Scottish Smallpipes – Colin Ross Trophy

Judge – Lee Moore

1st Rona Dawson – Duke of Fife's Welcome to Deeside, Kirsteen's Jig, The Ring, Dark Lowers the Night, Sleepy Maggie.

2nd Alexander Scott – The Last Cradle Song, Go To Berwick Johnny, Arlitrach (1885 William Ross setting)

3rd Norman MacLeod – Soutars of Selkirk (Dixon)

Duet for Pipes – Mains Castle Medal

Judge – Lee Moore

1st Peter McAllister and Robert Porter – Jack Lattin (Dixon)

2nd Stuart Letford and Bill Bennett – The Rose of Allendale, Corn Riggs, (arr. Matt Seattle), Cuddy's Wedding, (arr. Matt Seattle)

3rd Norman MacLeod and Matt Mochar – Muntanyes del Canigo, Kilworth Hills

Solo Pipe and Song – Jimmy Wilson Memorial Cup

Judge – Lee Moore

1st Matt Mochar – Rose of Allandale

Duet for pipes and other instrument – Dunfermline Tassie

Judge – Lee Moore

1st Neil Clark and Kathryn Grainger – Lindisfarne, (Matt Seattle), The Rolling Hills Of The Border, (Matt McGinn)

Open solo for Lowland and Border Pipes – Hamish Moore Cup

Judge – Lee Moore

1st Ian Gelston – Dorrington Lads, (John Rook setting), Andrew Carr, Lairds of Ryton aka Over The Border

2nd Stuart Letford - Over The Dyke And Till Her Laddie, Lasses Bushes Brawly, (Dixon settings), I'll Gang Nae Mair to Yon Toun (setting by Matt Seattle)

3rd Matt Seattle - The Fair Maid of Perth, (Matt Seattle), Rock and a Wee Pickle Tow, The Kelpies, (Matt Seattle)

Martin Lowe Trophy - Awarded by the Judges only for the greatest contribution to the performance

of Lowland and Border music on the day of the competition

Norman MacLeod

Overseas Performance Class

Judge – John Saunders

1st Jeremy Kingsbury – Strike the Bell (Vickers), Little Wee Winking Thing (Dixon)

2nd Phil Tillman – Kilt Thy Coat Maggie and Dance with Me, Silly Bit Chicken, Deil's Awa wi' the Exciseman

3rd Paul Connolly – House in St Peters (Allan MacDonald),  Eilean Fhianan (Charlie MacFarlane), Gun'San T’Aparan (Gown and Apron) - Trad